Lane LineFinally I am back in the pool… logged a few thousand yards this week which felt really good.  Because of the whole iron-gate-biting-off-my-pinkie-toenail incident, I have been sidelined for a couple of weeks.  Not only did this skew my physical well-being out of balance, but my mental well-being has wobbled off-kilter as well.  I was really excited to jump back in the water but honestly, as the moment got closer and closer, I was dreading it because I knew it was gonna hurt.  I was right.

It jump-started my brain though… it can be more exciting to think about doing something than it is to actually do it.  Not a huge revelation unless you start to apply it to your own life.

I have been doing a lot of research and writing for School of Disciples about target audiences, psychographics and what motivates people to learn.   I keep coming back to the same question:  What is the moment or motivation or impetus that makes me act?

TS Eliot writes about the ‘still point of the turning world’ in one of his Four Quartets BurntNorton.  At the still point, there is only the dance.  “I can only say, there we have been:  but I cannot say where.”

The scientist-part of my brain imagines the earth spinning on its axis.  At the very center is some infinitesimally small point that is still… watching the rest of the huge mass of matter that is us and our home planet going round and round.Earth from Space

I long to be at that still point.  It must be the place where my deepest passion overrides my inertia… where thought turns into action.  Maybe it is where God speaks to my heart.  In the watching, I desire to be part of the dance, not just the observer.

I need your help.  Can you pinpoint that moment or motivation or impetus in your own life that makes you act?  If you had to describe it in only a few words, what would you say?  Then send it along… post a comment or send an email.  I would really love to hear your thoughts.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

9 responses »

  1. Jeff Kaster says:

    This morning I spent on retreat. I went to the woods and watched orange and yellow leaves fall. My impetus to act resides in the intersection of death and new life. Watching the leaves float to the ground effortlessly. Now that’s a still point for me.

  2. elmenardi says:

    Maybe the still point is where my deep gladness meets the world’s deep need…

  3. Donna says:

    As a sloth, total physical, emotional, and mental rest must be present for me to act. With that, I act when fear is not present, when I am comfortable with community and myself. You mention the moment of hesitation before entering the pool when you fear the pain. For some people, fear of encountering anything uncomfortable or different can stop motion or keep them from acting.

  4. […] We know there’s more to listening than simply taking in information…  interpretation, understanding, responding, communicating back to the speaker.  But I think what St. Benedict was trying to convey is that listening with the ear of the heart can take us to the still point if we let ourselves be led.  The pondering heart pivots the listening ear toward movement… and then there is only the dance. […]

  5. Donna says:

    In that still point, when one is engrossed in and enwrapt by the Spirit, discovering how and where to move/act can certainly happen. Taking that new information as one moves beyond meditatio and into the world of humanity has always been difficult for me. I know people exist who live in a still point all the time; I’d like to arrive at that place someday.

  6. Jeanne Van Heule says:

    The point changes; just when I think I know where I am coming from/going, it all changes. I need to let Christ be the center.

  7. […] any way anymore.  Sometimes I can feel all of life moving around me especially when I sit at the still point.  I thrive in that dynamic shift that envelopes all of […]

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

