It’s snowing this morning… winter has finally come to this part of the world.  We weren’t sure it ever would.  White is a welcomed sight today.

I had a crazy fun weekend filled with inspiration!  Baked my heart out and wound up with 14 loaves of zucchini and banana bread and bunches of muffins. Watched our high school football team win their way into the state championship final next weekend.  Made some new friends at dinner at our house… a family of 8 little girls.  I got to play the time-tested favorite game: build-the-tower-of-blocks-and-knock-it-down about a hundred times with the 2 and 3-year-olds.  Then there was an extra hour of sleep!  Who doesn’t love that?  My college-daughter said on Sunday morning… no joke… “I was so excited when I realized that I had a whole extra hour to do homework!”

My brother ran in the NYC Marathon and I tracked his progress on the website as he cruised the course in less than 4 hours… he achieved his goal!  Then I had a spontaneous coffee date with my friend who is running Wyoming Haiti Relief from her basement.  I had the opportunity to tell her how heroic and amazing she is despite her feelings of frustration.  She is doing tremendous work in a time when most of the focus has shifted away from the plight of these desperate people.

Many hands make the load lighter. Give your heart, your prayers or your money. Click to go to Wyoming Haiti Relief.

I baked more bread, I worked on a couple of other projects, I was home for a whole weekend with my family which hasn’t happened in a very long time.  Drove the 150-mile commute and came down with the flu.  I am quarantined now for a second day… but it is snowing!

I have been inspired by all these people… all doing amazing things in big and small ways, either to change themselves or change the world.  Each inspires me to do what I need to do to make myself and this world better.

I often think of the possibilities:  Imagine if everything we did was in pursuit of something greater than ourselves.

What if?  What would that require of me?  Of us? What could we accomplish?

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

One response »

  1. Donna says:

    I love playing build-the-tower-knock-it-down. We could get philosophical about the game and say it reminds us of the fragility of what we create, but mostly it is just fun to listen to the squeals of laughter. The last part of your blog reminded me of a Rumi poem I read last week,
    “Your Bread is Seeking You.” The last verse reads “If you had any self-denial, the daily bread/would throw itself upon you as lovers do.”

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

