af-ter   [af-ter]
2.  later in time than; in succession to; at the close of.

faith   [feyth]
2.  belief that is not based on proof.
3.  belief in God or in the doctrines or teachings of religion.

I finally figured out why my jaw has been hurting.  I’ve been gritting my teeth so hard for so long trying to steel myself against the cold and the pain and the anger.  I’ve lost nearly forty pounds almost without even trying.  Some tell me it’s the stress.  Others say it’s the heartache.  I’m actually starting to think it’s the freedom of joy.

I am beginning to see more clearly who I am and what life is really about.  More than I ever have before.

I want to say I have stared death in the face! or I have seen the light! or Hallelujah!  I have been saved! But those are all such droll cliché attempts to capture the meaning of life which is at best, elusive.

Instead, I want to explore the AfterFaith–like life after death, the after-life.  But this is the after-faith.  It’s what is left when faith has been tested to its outer limits.  You have been stretched as maximumly far as you can stretch, and then you break.  Or you fall.  Or you’re just so darn exhausted that you can’t even breathe anymore.

This is that place.  The AfterFaith.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

One response »

  1. […] and have walked many a mile in each other’s shoes.  I invited him to read my whole story AfterFaith and so when we sat down in our booth at the restaurant, he looked at me and said, “I laughed […]

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

