Keeping vigil today…  I am in danger of losing my job.

Tomorrow one or more of our staffers will be out of work… if not me, then someone else who has also given their whole heart and soul to serving the people of this community.  It is a complex situation with many variables contributing to painful decisions that will be made.  I don’t know how it has all come to this point.

Barely eighteen months have passed since I last experienced this scenario… almost identical in many ways; this time a micro-view of the previous.  I am finding it very difficult to even think down that road much less muster up the courage to walk it again.  Life has a certain sense of inevitability about it… so I know the day is coming.

Along the healing I found muscles in my psyche I never knew… they have been flexed/worked/stretched this past year and I am stronger this go-round.  I also rediscovered what sustains my soul… music/swimming/prayer/writing.  Each has renewed and invigorated me… balm for my broken spirit.

We all feel broken at some point in our lives.  Whether by choice or circumstance, something will happen and chop us at our knees.  It is the imperfect human condition that is all of us.  No way around it… only through it.  Within our grasp is how we choose to wade through the muck.

I love music videos!  So I’m sending all my co-workers this balm for the broken spirit.  Hope you enjoy it too!

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

3 responses »

  1. Jeff Kaster says:

    Inspirational and powerful.
    Thank-you Elaine.
    I will use your blog and the music video.
    Blessings on your vigil day.

  2. Donna says:

    Beautiful video, Elaine. Thank you.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

