Who left this boat out in the desert?  Yes… I’m looking at you.  Anyone?  Anyone?

I’ve been on the road between work-home and home-home about 10 times in the past two weeks.  It’s been crazy!  In an earlier post was a glimpse of another out-of-the-ordinary obscure sight that I see every time I commute–you will want to take a peek.  Here’s another.

Nearest body of water large enough... 200 miles :/

I love boats and I love being on the water.  I was born and raised in San Antonio and practically grew up on water skis. That part of my life was filled with camping at the lake every weekend complete with early-morning-water-like-glass runs and late night campfire marshmallows and guitar songs.  If there is any part of my life that I want to live again, it would be those days.

But for now… who left the boat in the desert?

I think you put it there just so I would see it as I passed by too many times to count.  In this time of reinventing myself and redirecting my life, your boat is inspiring me to reflect on all the goodness that has filled my life and all the possibility that is yet to come.  I smile every time I see it 🙂 so thank you!  It is filling my spirit and soul to the brim with great memories.

But I have to ask… why did you leave it there?  The nearest lake large enough for your boat to float on is about 200 miles… maybe 150 as the crow flies… but you already know that there are no roads that direction; this is Wyoming after all.  It didn’t look like the trailer had a flat tire; and I didn’t see any ranch house in the general vicinity.  No matter, I guess… just a good place to park a boat.

I’m looking for my people… whoever and wherever you are.  We have something in common… a love of boats and water.  And the fact that we are all here in this desert means we could make some kind of connection if we knew each other.  Let’s try.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

2 responses »

  1. Donna says:

    Perhaps this boat is a contemporary Ark that will carry only insects or very small mammals.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

