Words are important… they can make us or break us.  Witness public figures one after the other who have been toppled by ill-timed or derogatory words. We hardly pay attention anymore unless we are the victims of accusation or slander.  Why is it that we are so desensitized to the power of words?

Words don’t mean what they used to.  Handshake deals meant that your word was gold… honest and characteristic of the strength of a person’s integrity. Words that were innocent just a few years ago now imply deeper, darker, negative connotations.  Words that never existed before are verbs today. Language evolves just as people and culture evolve.  Wonderful weird phenomenon!

Word of the Year will pop up any time now as 2010 comes to a rapid conclusion. My guess is that it will be:  facebook… Use it in a sentence please:  Hey! Facebook me tonight and tell me where and when we’re meeting!

My past favorites have been:  tweet… and woot… and google!  I love how corporate names have morphed into action words.  It gives us all the sense that our world is in motion every moment of every day.  We are not static in any way anymore.  Sometimes I can feel all of life moving around me especially when I sit at the still point.  I thrive in that dynamic shift that envelopes all of creation.

I am care-full with words.  I try to be precise and simple… I try not to speak words into the world that shouldn’t be there.  I work hard to use my words well. Words have tremendous power.  God knew that at the very start of all things.

God is a verb.

In the beginning was the Word.
The Word was with God and in God.
The Word was God.
The Word was… the Word is… and the Word will be… forever.
The Word is the Light.
The Light shines in darkness and the darkness cannot overcome it.
Forever is the Word.

(paraphrased John 1:1-5)
Look for these words on Christmas day… coming soon in a church near you.


About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

