Today I am looking for a new path… literally.

After weeks of transition, then holidays, getting kids back to their respective schools and packing up Christmas decos, a new way must be decided.  Ironic… or maybe coincidental-cool that a new year starts also… (okay, so I”m a week late already…)

It’s all scary/exhilarating/terrifying/liberating at the same time.  In the wee hours of the morning, I sat in the dark praying for some kind of insight or understanding or light… the unknown is so paralyzing sometimes.  No answers, I am sad to report… only the admonition to keep breathing.

Why do I forget?
Emmanuel… God-with-us… just a little while ago we celebrated.
And you gave us a whole lifetime’s worth of example.
You sent the Helper… and you promised to be nearby.
Why do I forget so easily?

Somehow it’s all intertwined with the whole already-but-not-yet-Reign-of-God thing… I can’t really explain other than to say I long for that day.  My soul is thirsting for you my God, thirsting for you my God.  Someday… someday.

For now I am leaning into your wind.

God's breath blowing across Avoca, Iowa.

In the beginning was the void and then God created the heavens and the earth.
God held everything in the palm of his hand and breathed across the water to create the first wave.
The very breath of God–
ruah–gives life to all.

God holds me in the palm of his hand, calls me by name and blows life into my soul.  God’s breath is wind.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

One response »

  1. […] that whole already-but-not-yet-Reign-of-God thing again that I alluded to the other day.  This dualistic sense that Yes—already the […]

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

