To boldly go where no one has gone before!

I’m a fan… always have been.  From the earliest days of baby-faced William Shatner to the remarkably Spock-like countenance of Zachary Quinto, I have held my breath through each death-defying adventure in Space: The Final Frontier.  It is officially no longer a secret.  If you didn’t know before, you know now:  I am a nerd.  I am a Trekkie.

My high-school daughter hadn’t seen the new Star Trek movie so I was ecstatic when she agreed to watch it with me the other night.  I think she liked it because the next day her Facebook status read:  Damnit Jim!  I’m a doctor not a physicist! Vintage Leonard McCoy!  aka… the original Bones.  I love it!

As the closing credits were rolling, I flashbacked to childhood.  I was so enthralled with the possibility of traveling to the far out corners of the galaxy and exploring whatever existed beyond our wildest imagination that I wanted to become an astronaut.  In those days, it was pretty unheard of for a girl to think about such careers… but like I said yesterday I am a scientist at heart and down the nerd path I skipped.  One particular Sunday morning sealed the deal.

We were all sitting in our usual place in the church about a handful of pews from the front on the left side; two parents and four little kids lined up in order according to who was naughtiest that morning before Mass.  I remember watching people in the Communion line and wondering to myself why only some got the little round white thing on their tongue and others didn’t.  I had to hold my parent’s hand when they got it from the priest, but I never got it.  Why was that?

Then my Star Trek brain kicked into gear:  it was because the little round white thing was poison!  And only creatures from certain planets could eat it and still live… Holy buckets!  These people are all aliens!  My parents are aliens!

It never crossed my mind that this would make me an alien too.  How could I be?  I was much too normal to be an alien.  (Listening to myself now, I realize I never really had a chance… I was doomed to become a nerd.  Glad I didn’t let you down, God.)

Star-Trek-brain has colored my thinking for my entire life.  I am forever looking toward the farthest corners of the universe in search of the unknown/new worlds/new life/new ways of seeing what my imagination can hardly conceive.  And like my hero—Captain James T. Kirk—even when I am afraid I try not to let fear hold me back from the prime mission:  To explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilizations, to boldly go where no one has gone before.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

