This 1989 love-gone-bad ballad by Swedish pop duo Roxette appeared in my Facebook News Feed this morning, posted by a friend as “the little gift Pandora gave me this AM”.  So I clicked the link and closed my eyes.  Nothing.  Opened my eyes… oh yeah, click ‘Play’.  Closed my eyes again and stepped back in time.  Listened a second and then a third time… magically and mysteriously… it turned into prayer.

Listen to your heart when he’s calling for you.
Listen to your heart… there’s nothing else you can do.
I don’t know where you’re going and I don’t know why.
Listen to your heart before you tell him goodbye.

It struck me that this song could be about me and God.  Through the uncertainty and dark that I struggle to keep at bay these days, I am trying to listen for God’s voice in my heart.  I don’t know where I’m going and I don’t know why things have happened like this.  I don’t want to say goodbye to God… but there are moments… yes there are moments…

Let’s keep listening together… we have a fighting chance that way.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

2 responses »

  1. Donna says:

    Good thing, even when we want to say goodbye, God is still there. God is there whether we think we need God or not. The darkest times when Jesus needed his friends by his side and asked them to pray with him, they slept but Jesus knew and we should realize too that God is always there listening to us in our darkest hours.

    I do beleive we often don’t want to hear what God is calling us for. We each have special gifts that we are sent to share with the world that will be available for this world at the time when it is needed because we are here to share that gift during that time in history. We do not know what that gift is and where it is needed but things happen in our lives so that we are ready and present to share the gift that we are given for all that need it. The path is there for us to take we just have to say yes to God when we are needed as the gift – sacred vessel – we are sent to be.

    Here we are back at discipleship…

  2. elmenardi says:

    Funny how it always comes back around, huh? I think there’s a message in there somewhere… Thanks for sharing!

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

