I just want to say thank you.  You have blessed me and my family in ways that you probably don’t know… and finally today I have the presence of mind to send you deep gratitude and prayers.

That last bit of advice was brilliant… absolutely brilliant.  Even though the job didn’t pan out, your words set me back on course and now I know what I want and I’m going after it.  When that company sent me the email rejection letter—which by the way came from the corporate recruiting department, not even the local guys I interviewed with—I heard God telling me that I needed to stay in ministry.  It was just as real and crystal clear as your voice when we sat at your kitchen table a few weeks ago.  I wouldn’t have come to this realization if I hadn’t pursued that job in oil and gas… and consequently been rejected.  You unknowingly pushed me forward on the next step of my journey.  It’s funny how life’s No’s can morph into Yes’s.

Hanging Jesus

I know you’re not a real sentimental guy, at least not outwardly.  But I see the deep goodness in your heart and in your generous spirit.  Coach Vader taught my daughter the in’s/out’s/between’s/thru’s on the soccer field… and  trained in the pool with my other daughter until she was sure her lungs would explode.  Our families have shared many an Aspen Mountain/Maroon Bells hike and marshmallow roast.  You have graciously received us at your mountain resort home for years of holiday memories.

I know there have been struggles along the way… I’ve had my share too.  You and I actually have very similar life histories.  I don’t think we’re out of the woods yet.  But we both have reason for hope.  So this Hanging Jesus is for you… and all who lift their arms in surrender and persevere to live a good life being the best people they can be.

Thank you, my friend.  Be well.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

