The kid who made this must have a great snowball arm!

Meet Fred the Snow Tree 🙂 hanging out on the corner of the high school parking lot.  Saw him yesterday as I was passing by and had to stop and snap a pic… he made me smile.

What makes you smile?  On the days when it feels like there’s nothing to smile about… when the news is filled with disaster and tragedy… when everything in life is way too hard.  What about the times when all you can do is smile?

And then what of those moments when you catch yourself genuinely happy?  All is right with the world… mountains turn in mole hills… challenges are easily conquered.  Do you take time to fully appreciate the goodness in your life?

I’m working on it.  Right now, I’m having more good days than bad and I feel a greater sense of gratitude in my everyday-overall.  Let me tell you my secret… living in the present moment with prayer.  No stupendous revelation I admit… I’m just doing better at it than I have for a while.

A friend said to me last week… You have such huge faith in the unknown.  Maybe… but honestly, given my track record, I really haven’t had a choice.  Circumstance has forced me into a whole multitude of unknown situations in the past couple of years and I just keep trudging along.  No great feat other than I want to survive.

Today my lesson is trusting happiness.  Fred the Snow Tree might be gone by the end of the day so I’m going to go visit him real quick.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

One response »

  1. Karen says:

    I love it, Elaine! Your eye for the “unexpected joy” is amazing!

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

