Cookie Henge: I thirst for some cold milk!

This is Cookie Henge… the product of our Fat-Tuesday-party.  I start here as a reminder to not take myself too seriously during these days of Lent and vision quest.  That is my prayer for you too… God has an easier time breaking through my stubborn side when I can look through eyes of playfulness and humility.

And so I begin… with water.  Water heals.  Water cleanses.  Water quenches.  What do I thirst for?

Paycheck
Clarity and direction
Renewed vision and passion
God’s presence in my life
Peace
Joy… abundant joy
Your plan for me… answers to my questions
Solitude
Work that fills me with hope
Living water… that heals/cleanses/quenches

My goal for this vision quest:  to be honest with myself even if it’s hard.

A certain old man dwelt in the desert, and his cell was far from water, about seven miles and once when he was going to draw water, he flagged and said to himself, “What need is there for me to endure this toil?  I shall come and live near the water.” And saying this, he turned about and saw one following him and counting his footprints: and he questioned him, saying, “Who art thou?” And he said, “I am the angel of the Lord, and I am sent to count thy footprints and give thee thy reward.” And when he heard him, the old man’s heart was stout, and himself more ready, and he set his cell still farther from that water.
from A Retreat with Desert Mystics (page 31)

God, you are counting my steps too.  How much effort will I make to find you?  How intensely will I search?  Am I willing to take “the road less traveled”?  I thirst.  How will I abide in that thirst?

Like the deer that longs for running streams,
So my soul is longing for you, my God.
My soul is thirsting for God, the God of my life;
When can I enter and see the face of God?
My tears have become my bread, by night, by day,
As I hear it said all day long:  “Where is your God?”
Deep is calling on deep, in the roar of waters;
Your torrents and all your waves swept over me.
Psalm 41

Question of the day:  What do you thirst for?

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

2 responses »

  1. fehringk says:

    Today I long for downtime, a closer relationship with God, and chocolate (gave it up for Lent).

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

