The kingdom of heaven is like a treasure buried in a field, which a person finds and hides again, and out of joy goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.  Again the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant searching for fine pearls.  When he finds a pearl of great price, he goes and sells all that he has and buys it.

Matthew 13:44-46

Amma Syncletica was known by this parable.  All wisdom for her was located in the Gospel which she pursued relentlessly at the expense of everything else.  For her, divine union with God was the pearl of great price.

And the question is posed to me on this vision quest:  What pearl of great price am I searching for?  What would I do to get it?

I have to laugh when I listen to some American Idol contestants… I want it so bad!  I’m willing to do whatever it takes… just give me a chance. But I sit there and wonder if they really mean it/if they really know what it will take to be a superstar.  What are they willing to give to get the pearl of great price?

I think of all I have given to get to this point in my life… I think of all that I will be asked to give to arrive in the future.  It might be a little/it might be a lot.  I feel like I have already given as much as I can but God might ask more of me.  Probably will.  I can only wait and see… and try to be faithful.

In any case, I am wrestling today.

Question of the day:  What are you willing to give?

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

2 responses »

  1. Rox says:

    Here is an example of what someone gave….. everything. And he followed his conscience for women…. for me.

    Fr. Roy stated (Aug 2008) Conscience is something very sacred. It gives us a sense of right and wrong and urges us to do the right thing. Conscience is what compelled Franz Jagerstatter to refuse to enlist in Hitler’s army. On this day, August 9, 1943, this humble farmer was executed for following his conscience. Conscience is what compelled Rosa Parks to say, “No, I cannot sit in the back of the bus anymore.” Conscience is what compels Janice Sevre-Duszynska and the other women to say, “No, we cannot deny our call from God to the priesthood.” And it is our conscience that compels us to be here today. How can we speak out against the injustice of our country’s foreign policy in Latin America and Iraq if we are silent about the injustice of our church here at home?

    Now see the cost:

    http://ncronline.org/news/women/maryknoll-gives-bourgeois-notice-removal-order

  2. elmenardi says:

    We say “Thank you Jesus!” for all the people who witness what it is to give everything… at huge personal expense.

    I hope to be that brave someday when the time of trial comes.

    Thanks Rox. Peace.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

