I started the class Balm for the Broken Spirit because something was missing for me.  I felt like my own spirit was broken and none of the usual remedies seemed to help.  I looked to my church experience and it was/still is sadly lagging in being relevant to… anything these days.  I tried to seek out friends who might understand but it just never developed… they’re all pretty busy.  I can’t afford to pay someone to listen to my whining/but I’m not usually one for self-help gurus anyway.  The only other place I could think to go was to a group of people who might be feeling the same way I was.  And… they were.

I have always known there is a deep thread that connects us all to one another… sometimes it’s pretty surface-level and easy to see.  But usually it takes some digging to uncover and discover the common ground between us.  The stories of our lives are so unique and we all secretly think we have problems that no one else does.  Our culture encourages us to lock onto the idea that we can and should fix these problems ourselves without bothering anyone else… besides they probably have their own problems/are too busy/just plain don’t care about fixing anyone else’s problems.  No one understands what I’m dealing with… no one cares that I’m dealing with it… I’m not dealing with it well… I feel so alone…

You are not alone.

You’re  not… plain and simple.  If you need to label yourself as *unique* / *weird* / *out-of-the-box* / *abnormal*  to make you feel special… go ahead.  But when it all comes down to it, you’re just like the other 8 billion people on this earth.  Your problems fall into one of a handful of categories of things we all deal with.  I find comfort in that thought.

And the caveat… you ARE special… not because of the difficulties and obstacles that define you… but because of the unique and not-able-to-be-copied person you are.

It’s really easy to crawl under a rock or back into a corner and never approach the light of day again.  It’s tempting to believe the whole world works against you and that you are completely alone.  But let me tell you… from experience… this is the coward’s way out… and it’s not true.  It takes a lot of courage to stand up and shout “God… I am broken!”  But when you do… oh it feels so good.  And then you can get to the work of healing the hurt places.

Question of the day:  What do you do when you feel broken?

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

