Sometimes I come to the computer and ask myself:  Is there anything important left to say?

And today’s answer:  lemme think… Yes there is!  We had a homily yesterday!

Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened,
and I will give you rest.

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for yourselves. 

For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”

Matthew 11:25-30

Light and Easy

Three messages I heard… (I think you must be trained to preach in 3’s… try taking one good idea and really opening it up.)

  1. God asks us to come with child-like faith… not childish, but child-like.
  2. That means when we give all our worries to God, God will take care of them and our burdens will be lifted.
  3. When we do this all in prayer, things usually go pretty well… or at least better than when we try to handle them ourselves.

Yes… all well and good.
But we barely scratched the surface of that marvelous Gospel passage.

What does it mean to give your worries to God?
That was my first question.

What does is mean to be child-like?  In an adult sense?  I can’t undo who I am/what I know.
My second thought.

And then my last thought… because I checked out after it…
This isn’t my church anymore… (little ‘c’… not big ‘C’)
I don’t feel at home here anymore.  I am disconnected.
For a lot of reasons I’ll talk about tomorrow.

Tastes Like Air

God calls me to have child-like faith… but not to eat baby food.  Give me something to sink my teeth into… something to chew on.  I walked out feeling like I’d just eaten white bread… the kind that tastes like air.  I was so hungry for a good thick chewy multigrain that would stick to the roof of my mouth and leave seeds between my teeth.

And today it hits me…

When I taste this white-bread-faith, I feel like I’m being preached down to rather than walking the journey together and trying to figure out this Mystery called God.  So I come here to this blog to throw some words out to the universe to see if anyone else feels the same.

Uni-Verse

universe:  to turn around one thing

I come to turn around one thing in my world… myself.

And I leave the banquet table unsatisfied.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

