When I don’t know where I’m going

I am realizing how much I flounder when I don’t have goals.  Can’t tell you how many wasted miles I have driven here because I started a journey with a nebulous goal in mind and then changed mid-stream.

When I don’t feel at home

I also realized this morning that I’m not very efficient until I’m comfortable in my environment.  This lack-of-ability is not at all conducive for a writer.  I can hop down to my local coffee shop/plop down at a table and write volumes!  But in a new home or new office, I struggle to find just the right corner to set up my laptop.  (Maybe it’s the smell and taste of coffee 😉

When the dust won’t settle fast enough

In any case, it’s my comfort level with the surroundings.  I’ve tried to be gentle with myself.  I am living in a personal time and space consumed with immense change.  Dust does not settle all at once… just one speck at a time.

When I close my eyes

What happens when I close my eyes?
I glimpse the hint of light behind my eyelids.
I pray in the hum underneath the world.
I relax under the weight of hands on my shoulders.
I hear a voice in my heart that speaks:

Before you were born, I chose you.
I have called you by name–you are light.
You are mine, my beloved.

What happens when you close your eyes?

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

