I have this morning routine.

I wake up early before the world gets rolling.  I love the before-sun-rises-darkness… I think it’s the best time of day.

I drink some really good, really hot coffee… life is way too short for bad coffee.

I sit on the couch in front of the window and I watch the world.  When the coffee is gone, I close my eyes and sit in silence… contemplative prayer… asking God to fill my cup with whatever I will need for the day.  Sometimes I pour my heart into the cup asking God to transform the hurt… other times when I am empty I ask God to fill it up with living water.

Pray with your eyes open.

Then one day when I was living at the foot of Aspen Mountain in southwestern Wyoming, I heard… Pray with your eyes open.

It was a bit disconcerting and startling at first.  But I began to see a new world… hear a new voice… feel a new spirit within.  I was transformed by a mystical desert that called to my center.

Then I moved to the city.

Such that it is… all 50,000 people or so.  But this time, my window looked out onto a parking lot… a nice parking lot mind you, but still a parking lot.  The best thing was the bush right outside my window where birds liked to visit and sing.  So I put out a bird feeder and watched as they came for first breakfast.  And then I heard:  See how God cares for the birds.   How much more important are you in God’s eyes?

Great prayer, huh?

When prayer needs to change

And now I am in a new location… different couch… different window… different view.  This morning I realized that my new/old way of prayer doesn’t fit right today.  It’s like I’m wearing shoes that aren’t the same shape as my feet… or a shirt that doesn’t lay right across my shoulders… or a sweater that is too tight around my neck.  And what do we do when clothes don’t feel right… Strip down!

So that’s what I need to do now.  I have a couple of ideas… but I’m not sure if they’re going to fit right either.  I’ll have to see what happens.

What do you do when prayer needs to change?  Do share.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

One response »

  1. […] in that space where my old way of praying doesn’t fit right anymore.  I need to make a change but I’m not sure exactly […]

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

