So I was at Theology on Tap last night at the ChocolateBar.  I was the first to arrive and when I walked in the whole joint was hopping!  This is definitely the hip place to be for young adults on a Friday night!

A Gift

I was gifted with a moment of clarity.

Such encounters with the divine tend to reveal a little bit more meaning and purpose in our lives.  A lot of times they come from God speaking to us through someone else.  I think that is so cool!

Fr. Bob talked about finding God in everyday life.  He began with the story of creation and how God transformed light / dark / water / chaos into harmony.  How God breathed across the ocean to create the first wave and so created the universe in balance… in peace… in union with all that would come.

A moment of clarity for me

God breathed across the water.

God calls me by name and breathes life into my soul.

I belong to God to live in harmony.

Check out Wind.

Then a little later…

A young woman sitting across from me leans in and tells me a quick story…

Last year at the conference, I was sitting in this presentation and then it hit me.  I knew exactly what I wanted to do with my life.  The speaker’s words were like God’s, pointing me in the right direction.  Now I know what to do.

A moment of clarity for this woman.

And a little after that…

A 26-year-old young adult tells me that he’s living his dream.  At 26!  Way cool!  He’s a distressed debt investment banker.  (Finance is not my gift so I honestly have no idea what that is.)  He goes on to say that the only thing that would make it more perfect is if the job was in New York… but that God must have a plan for him being where he is now.

Another moment of clarity.

The Subplot

So I just have to smile and keep wrestling with God.  This tension between what I want and what God wants for me gets resolved a little more with each new moment of clarity.  God continues to reveal new details to the subplot that is my life.  On the days when I-can-live-with-this-but-I-don’t-like-it, I have the opportunity to die-to-self a little more deeply and permanently.  Eventually I’ll get there.

How about you?

What do you learn from moments of clarity?

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

