The Day-After-Thanksgiving

…is always a strange combination of frenzied consumerism and left-over gratitude… mixing to form uncommon flavors akin to the turkey goulash that will come in another day or so.

The 180 degree transition makes your head spin.  One moment is labeled “Thank You” and the next is “Give me!”

The Target commercials with the Lady-in-Red-Spandex lifting shopping baskets like barbells and sprinting down store aisles in red stilettos has set me over the edge.  Frankly Target CEO Gregg Steinhafel, I’m embarrassed for you.  I may never shop there again.  Your ads this year have raised the bar to a new level of annoying-over-the-top-greedy-consumption… and I’m sick of it.

That’s too bad… because I do like to shop at Target.

Small-Business-Saturday

So if I do any shopping this Black Friday / Cyber-Monday weekend, I’ll probably head to a local small business.

How did it all come to this?  At what point did we abandon core values?

Friends and family said one after the other yesterday how nice it was to just hang out and relax.  We are so deeply programmed to fill every ounce of time with something to make us feel valuable and productive.

And then there’s Advent.

Starting this weekend.  The spirit of waiting and anticipation competes with an even more frenzied rush and hustle for the next 29 days.  Enough to make all our heads spin.

I’m in a different place this year.  My soul feels full… I can’t identify any specific wants or desires.  The shopping-gene in me is dormant right now.  I am at a loss to explain.

I am changing inside… in a profound way that hasn’t consciously or visibly surfaced yet.  A kind of personal, internal evolution… back to liminal space where nothing is business-as-usual or expected or conventional.  I feel more unlike myself than ever before.  I am at a loss to explain.

So just settle…

I can’t really figure out what to do about how I feel so I’m just going to sit still.  I’m going to have to do some shopping or making or baking… there are just some people in your life that you have to wrap up gifts for… I’ll get that much done.

But other than that, I think this next month is going to be pretty low-key.  When the Lady-in-Red-Spandex comes back on, I’m going to turn off the television.

Peace and turkey left-overs to you and your’s.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

One response »

  1. Rob Spaulding says:

    No wants…dormant shopping gene…what a gift. Ahh…just enjoy being.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

