I hear God laughing.

Every time I make a plan, I hear God laugh at me.

I said to my friend the other day:  I’ve made a decision!  He replied:  Really?  What?

I then heard God yell out:  Elaine has another plan!  And instantly angels the world over heard the punch-line and started rolling in the aisles!

Funny, God… real funny.

Classic Dixie cup joke:

How do you make God laugh?
Tell him you have a plan.

I didn’t think it was overly funny at time.  Still don’t.

I want to have a plan.

Most human people do.
Not all… but many.

It’s what self-help gurus and time-management experts of all varieties tell us we need.
A plan.
Strategies.
Objectives.
Goals.

But why… oh why… would I go to all the trouble / time / energy to make a plan / develop strategies / objectify objectives / theorize goals and outcomes if You are just going to laugh at me?

And then change the plan of my life whenever You feel like it…

So I’ve decided on a new plan… in fact… an evil plan.

Pinky:  What we goin’ do tonight, Brain?
Brain:  Same thing we do every night, Pinky.  Try to take over the world!

Okay… not really… my new plan is to try and enter into a whole new level of different… surrender.  Good work for Advent.

Peace out.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

2 responses »

  1. Donna says:

    Yeah, I’m not sure how we are all supposed to be prepared, with all the lamp oil and all that but not have a plan. Maybe we are just supposed to be prepared for whatever comes our way, but really how can we all be Boy Scouts “always prepared” for every situation that might come our way. Maybe just be prepared to roll with the punches…

    • That’s all I can think of… prepared to roll with the punches….

      HA! which actually means to not prepare at all! To roll with the punches requires being flexible and adaptable… preparation sets up expectations and structure…

      Ahhh… the complexities of the spiritual life 🙂

      Thanks Donna!

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

