This is going to end badly.

Exhilaration propelled Little Fish when she jumped from the pond, but it was deep down fear that shook her when she realized where she had landed.

Romantic tales of ancient oceans had filled her childhood with the traditions of her long-lost fish family.  Expecting to be in a bigger world, Little Fish instead found herself caked in sand and sorely bruised from the jagged rocks off which she tumbled.  This was bad… very bad.

What is the purpose?  To become small

Hope is lost, cried Little Fish, a tear falling to the ground just so… that it reflected the brilliant light of a single grain of sand.  The sand smiled toward Little Fish.

To what purpose?  Little Fish asked.

To become small, Sand replied.

Little Fish was startled by Sand’s bold reply.  What kind of purpose is that?

Once I was part of a huge mountain, tall and majestic.  The animals walked upon my stones and the stars sang to us each night.  We were all happy and the creatures knew peace.

The rains came and the ice… bit by bit I was broken into pieces.  At first I was sad to be broken for I was no longer majestic.  Then the wind called to me and said  ‘I need you… will you come?’

I was honored to be chosen for some new purpose and so I went with the wind.  She took me down mountains, through streams and across valleys to places I never knew.

All the while I was changing though I couldn’t see it.  My rough edges were becoming smooth, my corners were being rounded, my greatness was being humbled.

The wind brought me to the edge of a vast ocean and then dropped me into the salty water.  For thousands of years I rolled with the waves, getting smaller and smaller.  A great sun came and dried up the sea but the wind asked me to stay and tell my story to wanderers.

And a beautiful story it is, Little Fish said, to become small.

Then the rains came and Little Fish felt watered again.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

2 responses »

  1. susan says:

    mental illness blankets me in hopelessness. i feel as small and devalued as little fish.
    rough edges are smooth though allowing the bigger picture to filter through the blankness. character is stronger. 2012 has been an awakening. started to practice RAOK {random acts of kindness} daily. feel focused, blessed, satisfied with my reality.

    • Keep moving forward friend! Little Fish finds living water. You can too. How can I help you grow your soul? Let me know… in the meantime I’ll send prayers. Be well and know peace.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

