On a scale of 1 to 5

Where 1 is low and 5 is high:  How well do you adjust to change?

Be honest.  There are no better answers than others.  Heck… you don’t even need to tell anyone your answer if you don’t want.

Have a number in mind?  Good.  Now say it out loud… at some audible sound level… even if it’s just a whisper… say it out loud.

[ We take more ownership of the things we say out loud… something akin to “putting it out in the universe”. ]

I give myself a 7!

I know… that wasn’t fair because the scale stopped at 5.  Still… I’m going off-road on this one.

How well I tolerate change is off-the-charts for me.

I can’t remember the last morning when I woke up in a real bed.  I have been sleeping on 5-inches of memory foam on the floor for months.  And when I’m in Wyoming, our comfy bed is the mattress on that floor.

I have lived in 5 different homes in 3 different cities in the past 2 years.

I went shopping for a new laptop last night and just about had a meltdown in the store after laptop #9 when I said to myself… Please just give me a keyboard that feels like the old one!

Change is the essence of the spiritual life.

And yet… here we are in Lent.  Change is the call of the season.

Metanoia… conversion / repentance / turn-yourself-around.  Change your evil ways and come back to me.

All of these calls to change… whether it’s our interior selves or following God’s call to serve… are part and parcel of the spiritual life.

Some are definitely easier to make than others.  Some on the other hand, require uprooting your whole life… either physically / emotionally / psychologically / or spiritually.

I wish there was a magic formula.

This is what I'm reading now... click to check it out!

That would make change so much easier.  The only magic formula I know is listening… listening to that still small voice within that manifests as God’s voice amidst the chaos.

For me… in the change threshold… another encounter with liminal space… it’s the only constant.

Behold, a sacred voice is calling you;
all over the sky a sacred voice is calling.

Black Elk
from Black Elk Speaks by John Neihardt

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

