A City Lake

This is Sparks Marina.  I live close to it… and now that Spring weather is settling into the valley, I am pounding out more laps around the lake.  Isn’t it beautiful?  It’s not Lake Tahoe I’ll admit… but for a man-made recreation area in the middle of the city, I like it.  Just enough to set light to my spirit.

Lake Tahoe is just over the far mountains in the middle of this pic.

I go counter-clockwise.

In light of what my brain has been processing lately, I have made an insightful discovery:  I go counter-clockwise around the marina… every time.

I have tried to go the other direction (clockwise) … but it always feel awkward.

Oddly enough, most of the people who do exercise either themselves / their dogs / or their energetic children on this path go clockwise around the lake.  There are relatively few people who take the counter-clockwise route.  I’m not really sure what to make of that.

I don’t think there is a wrong way or right way… one just feels better to me than the other.

Relating to Escalators

So these thoughts come on the heels of this week’s set of blogs about escalators and going against the flow.

Evidently, there is a pattern in my life that I either haven’t seen before or haven’t seen with enough clarity to relate it to the rest of everything that has been going on.

What does this counter-clockwise / counter-cultural / going-against-the-normal-flow-of-the-world mean?

As ministry professionals and clergy, we are often quick to cite the counter-cultural nature of Jesus’ teaching about faith.  In fact, I see nearly everything that Jesus said in the Bible as paradox to what people knew then and what we know and live today.  It is not a stretch to look at the basic practice of faith as counter-cultural.

But maybe the real catch is whether we actually live the Gospel like Jesus preached it… seems like if we did, then we’d all be running in counter-clockwise circles… we’d all be going against the flow.

What does all this mean?

I don’t know yet… I’m still trying to discover the message that God is trying to reveal to me right now.  One of my favorite movie lines ever comes from Shakespeare in Love.  When asked how it will all work out, Mr. Henslowe says…

I don’t know.  It’s a mystery.

Yes… for me it’s a mystery.  And the only thing I know for sure is that God always provides.  Always.

For now I’m going to keep moving counter-clockwise.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

One response »

  1. […] adventures… nearly everyone was going clockwise except me.  [ You can read more about that here. […]

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

