I Made the Switch

Definitive break from the past... intentional march toward the future.

I had to… the threat of a $1000 fine was enough to make me act.

It was a little emotional for me last night as I was changing out the plates… have to admit that my eyes got a bit teary.  My girls will tell you that “Mom cries at everything these days”… I don’t cry at everything… some things.

Bittersweet 🙂 / 😦

3rd Anniversary

Today is the third anniversary of the closing of the Diocese of Cheyenne ministry offices… which was the day I lost my job and went into a tailspin.

Today there are two new staff people and a pastoral ministry office… but it’s not the same.  Some will say out loud that in fact it’s better now than it was then.  Whatever.

So for me… the timing of the changing of license plates is huge.  It marks a definitive break from the past… and an intentional march toward the future.

That feels good.

Water Under the Bridge

A lot of water has passed under my bridge these past 3 years… a lot.  So many things have happened and I’m still sorting through it all.  It is the work of the spiritual life I suppose… I am never without a good chunk of spiritual work to do.

For the past 3 years, I have felt like the ground has been constantly shifting under my feet… like there hasn’t been anything really solid to stand on… like I was always trying to regain my footing.

Even when God is present we can still feel off-balance.

My universe has been disturbed.

My universe was disturbed… actually it was totally thrown out-of-whack… three years ago today.  Now I can say that it has been worth all the heartache and uncertainty… not that it’s been an easy journey.  But I have learned so much… and I have grown so much.

I am a new creation.

This poem came as a gift to me through the voice of Fr. Anthony Gittins, CSSp at the LA Congress last month.  I hope it is gift for you today.

Disturb us, Lord, when
We are too well pleased with ourselves,
When our dreams have come true
Because we have dreamed too little,
When we arrived safely
Because we sailed too close to the shore.

Disturb us, Lord, when
With the abundance of things we possess
We have lost our thirst
For the waters of life;
Having fallen in love with life,
We have ceased to dream of eternity
And in our efforts to build a new earth,
We have allowed our vision
Of the new Heaven to dim.

Disturb us, Lord, to dare more boldly,
To venture on wider seas
Where storms will show your mastery;
Where losing sight of land,
We shall find the stars.

We ask You to push back
The horizons of our hopes;
And to push into the future
In strength, courage, hope, and love.

Sir Francis Drake
1577 

Peace for Holy Week!

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

One response »

  1. […] Bittersweet 🙂 / 😦 […]

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

