Counter-Clockwise Again

Yesterday was an absolutely beautiful day!  So nice in fact that it called for a walk around the marina… and just as on previous adventures… nearly everyone was going clockwise except me.  [ You can read more about that here. ]

The usual cast of characters was there… times 10!

This is Porterhouse... Drake University's Beautiful Bulldog... cousin to the bulldog on the balcony at Sparks Marina.

Evidently I wasn’t the only one who opted to be outdoors on such a wonderful spring day.  There were 3 very unusual and interesting things that I saw…

  1. A little boy shouting to his disbelieving mother and sister-in-a-stroller:  Yes it WAS an alligator!  I saw it with my own eyes!  { There are definitely fish in the marina… but I seriously doubt there are alligators 🙂 }
  2. A bulldog on a balcony… pacing back and forth / wanting to bark at us but not / watching and smelling all the people and animals that were passing by his house.
  3. A man on a porch swing sunning himself and his VERY large iguana!  { that one really caught me off-guard! }

I was paying attention to the world and it gave me quite a show!

The Discernment Dinner

And then a couple days earlier I was with a group of college students at a women’s discernment dinner… my priest-friend is the director of vocations and asked me to come share my story about how I got into ministry many moons ago.  { I will probably share that story with you too sometime… it’s not the usual path a person takes. }

We had a great evening together and the conversation was rich.  One of the last things I said was along the lines of:

We can ‘discern’… that is make our own decisions… all we want to about our lives… but sometimes God just does what God wants to do.  Our job is to be open every day and enter into God’s plan as best we can.  You never really know what’s going to happen next.

That is the story of my life… sometimes you just never know what’s going to happen next.

Today’s Lesson

So that is the connection between 2 too random stories.

You just never know what God has planned for you… but it pays to be walking around with your eyes and ears wide open!

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

One response »

  1. […] mentioned before that I recently spoke at a women’s discernment dinner to a group of college students.  We talked about “The Call”.  The call to life… […]

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

