A Very Bitter Taste

Earlier this week, I had a conversation with a work colleague… and I left his office feeling terrible.  The basic gist of it all was about money and why I didn’t have more of it.

My response was that my family has been living off of two ministry salaries for the past almost-20 years… which if you don’t already know might equal one real-world salary… might.

I just don’t have the ability to carry the expenses of a large ministry event using my own money until you reimburse me.

I left that conversation with a very bitter taste in my mouth… literally.
Water please!  NOW!

Too Many CEO’s

I don’t think this colleague had any inkling of what my life experience has been.  But to be fair, we haven’t worked with each other very long… so don’t know the other’s story.

But we are all in this boat together.  Here’s why.

If you are reading this now, you are in the top 8% of the richest people in the world.  Yes… really.  And if you are reading this on a personal home computer or even mobile device… move yourself up on the list.

You are rich.  [You are a CEO.]

It doesn’t matter how much money you have / how big your house is / what kind of car you drive / how many fancy jewels you have on your fingers… compared to the other 92% of the world population, you are rich.  I am rich.  Just about everyone in the US qualifies.

There are a lot of CEO’s out there… out here.

Too many CEO’s don’t see.

But most don’t see.  Or maybe we choose not to see.  There’s always someone around us who has more or bigger or better.  Therefore… I’m not rich… that person is.

Unless we put ourselves in the shoes of those-who-don’t-have, we will never see the world as it truly is.

It was belittling and humiliating when this person questioned why I didn’t have more money.  There did come a solution to this dilemma, but I felt like he did it begrudgingly as a ‘favor to me’.

Do I in turn do that?  Do I begrudgingly give of my own wealth to those in need?

Am I a stingy CEO?

Yes… more often than I want to admit… more often than I want to see.

Change my heart O God.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

4 responses »

  1. Dan Mulhall says:

    My focus for many years has been growing a generous heart. I have a long way to go.
    The point you make about making free loans to your company applies to many of us, regardless of our ability to repay the loan. Refuse to front your company money unless it benefits you as well.

  2. susan says:

    Powerful perspective.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

