I woke up in my own bed

[ More accurately, it’s my work-home bed.  My home-home bed is still in Wyoming… obviously, I am not.  But we’re consolidating soon. ]

I have just returned after two weeks on the road.  The first was a whirlwind tour of northern Nevada… Sparks / Gardnerville / Incline Village / Lake Tahoe / Winnemucca / Elko.

Then immediately following… a crack-of-dawn flight to Washington, DC… with time in Virginia / Maryland / and the District.

Now… time to process a bit.

My soul has been growing

… in that indescribable / unexplainable way that can only come forth in simile and metaphor.

Like a flower opening in sunlight or a desert drinking rain.

Like a bird carrying a song to the next tree over or an organ donor giving new life after death.

Like a prayer rising from my toes or my face turning to the wind.

Over the past two weeks, I have been with hundreds of people… both personally and collectively.  {Thousands if you count airports.}

And I have been changed.  My soul has grown.

At the Great Foot

I stood at the foot of Lincoln in his chair.  Even though every junior high student in the US was right beside me, I had a moment of solitude and awe… at the bravery of a man who dared to do what others said could not be done.

Later that night, I rubbed my fingers along an engraved granite wall and the words… Make a career of humanity… MLK.

I touched a place in my heart that continues to be compelled forward in this crazy / frustrating / exhilarating / exasperating / joyful / heartbreaking work of ministry.

Then I stepped into the halls where bishops and executives frame the context of the life of the American Catholic Church.

NFCYM Office and USCCB Bishops Conference Room

Despite what PiP’s (people-in-pews) sometimes think, these are good people trying to do good work as best they can.  All of them are answering God’s call in their own lives to the best of their abilities.

Just like me.

That idea too grows my soul.

Lessons to Ponder

At NDDI this past week, a friend posed a question to me after a presentation I gave…

How do you tease out God’s direction for your life?

For me, that’s growing my soul.

I’m going to take a bit of literary license and paraphrase one of my favorite quotes from the Sufi poet Rumi:

Today like every day
We wake up and step into a day like yesterday.
Don’t pick up the next book on the shelf.
Instead take down a musical instrument.

“Let the beauty we love be what we do.
There are hundreds of ways to kneel and kiss the ground.”

Peace on the journey.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

3 responses »

  1. Ronald of Richmond says:

    Great comments and insights that give growth to reflection and “pondering”

  2. Don McCrabb says:

    Good prayer. Prayer always gives you more – more of self, more of other, more of God – and orders and purifies the difference and relatedness of all three.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

