The Next Adventure Begins

Yesterday.  5:00 am start… wings-with-friends… 19 hours…1000 miles… sleep in my own big bed… priceless!

I love this cartoon by Hugh MacLeod… check out more of his work at gapingvoid.com.

Back in Wyo as we finish writing the last chapter in this book.  About to make the epic move to Reno.

Somewhere between Tooele, Utah and Evanston, Wyoming, we popped in two Collective Soul cd’s.  I had forgotten how much I like them and a couple of albums in particular.  Their music speaks to my soul… especially this song called Maybe… my favorite line:

‘Maybe’ is all that you can offer now.

And I thought… yes… that about sums it up.

Maybe

Today I just have a Maybe in me.
Not a full-fledged Yes but not a No either.
Just a Maybe.

Do I have one more move in me?  Maybe.
Can I go one more step for you God?  Maybe.
Will I give one more extra mile for someone else?  Maybe.

Maybe is all that I can offer now.

I’m good with Maybe.

Today it’s keeping me grounded.  I’m not in the rush of making a Yes happen… nor in the panic of guilt for saying No.

It’s nice to be on solid middle ground where the options are still open.  I feel like I’m hanging out in the doc’s waiting room.  It’s all good.

So my prayer today God is… Maybe.

You already know that my heart is bent toward Probably… although some days more begrudgingly than others.  So I’ll swing… no doubt.

But for now, I’m resting in Maybe.

Thanks for being patient with me.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

3 responses »

  1. Ronald of Richmond says:

    I like the idea of “maybe”. Certainly fits as I reflect on life and it’s intricacies without the need for a definitive evaluation of yes or no.

    • I think that for me, sometimes “maybe” is the only authentic answer… especially on the days when I’m not too keen on the direction that God is moving me. I want to say “yes” but when I’m not feeling it, I get angry at God. I’m still very much a work-in-progress.

      I hope that’s okay with God… I think usually God is good with that 🙂

      Peace!

  2. […] already shared that song ‘Maybe‘ with you.  Here’s another called ‘Blame’.  The lyric that grabbed my […]

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

