Moving Sale Today!

Picked the hottest day so far for the moving sale.  At least it didn’t rain… skies / heat are threatening to produce an overnight shower but tomorrow’s clearance items are stashed beneath a tarp… mostly.

It was a wild day.  The classified ad gave a noon start-time but of course, people started showing up at 9:00 am.  By 6:00 pm, we were sun-fried-crispy and wet-dog-smelly.

But!

We have purged nearly 3/4 of everything we own.  Quite the accomplishment!

It hasn’t been easy… in some cases it’s been downright painful.  My heart has broken more than once… I have too many attachments to things.  Not the things themselves but the memories that were made while using those things.  Hence the heartache.

But life marches on!

Lesson-of-the-Day

I have just about finished sorting through close to 20 years of ministry files / resources / books / grad school papers / and assorted projects that have been hauled from Denver / across Wyoming / threatening to make the move to Reno.

[I am slightly embarrassed to admit that I’ve recycled almost a whole forest worth of trees in the past week… although to my credit, it has accumulated over the course of two decades.]

It has all been very bittersweet.  Sorting through everything reminded me of all the people / places / activities / events / projects I have been privileged to be part of.  It also reminded me of all the things that were never finished / in some cases never started.

Lesson here:  It’s really all in God’s hands.

A Fun / Funny Thing Happened Today

Unexpectedly, some old friends from out of town showed up at our front door just as the moving sale was getting underway… a mom and her 2 daughters and a new baby grand-daughter.  It was so great to see them.  They were all part of our youth programs many years ago… well, except for the baby grand-daughter.

So the memories come full-circle from files and papers to real voices and faces.  What a tremendous gift!

If I had any doubts about success during this Wyoming adventure, God gave confirmation and affirmation today that all the blood / sweat / tears and hard work have been worthwhile.

Thank you Jesus for giving us the chance to see that the seeds have sprouted and indeed produced good fruit.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

2 responses »

  1. Dan Mulhall says:

    I wish I had something clever to offer but all I can say is that I feel your pain. Prayers.
    Dan

    • Thanks Dan. Prayers are what we need at this point!

      I found a bunch of emails, etc. that had your name on them and I smiled and gave thanks for the good work we have done together. More to come I am sure!

      See you soon… peace 🙂

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

