Do you have a Bucket List?

Yes… we are really that high up!

I don’t have a formal one… just a bunch of things swimming around in my head that I hope I’ll be able to do someday.

Got to check mark one of them on Saturday:

Hot air balloon crew!

Not in my wildest dreams did I expect this to come my way.

It was great!

No… more than that… it was fabulous!

Blue Angel!

When I was in high school and searching for a career, I had dreams of going to the Air Force Academy.  I wanted to be a pilot.  A Blue Angel pilot.

Somewhere along the way, the fighter jet quartet had flashed before my eyes… maybe at a Denver Broncos game… and I knew that was for me.

Well… evidently it wasn’t for me.  Turns out I was 4 inches too short to get into flight school.  [That’s not exactly something that more sweat and hard work can help.]

Nix that plan.

I wanted to be an Astronaut.

To soar the heavens and explore planets was my goal.  I am a Trekkie of the original variety.  Captain Kirk and Spock are my heroes…  and their mission is my vision of a life well-lived:

To explore strange new worlds
To seek out new life and new civilizations
To boldly go where no one has gone before!

I am hoping that heaven will be one big space exploration party!

Good for Now

I am thrilled to have had the chance to see earth from the towering heights of a balloon!

I thought I would be scared… to be up off the ground so high.  Running through my brain… What if I fall out!?!?  But it really wasn’t scary at all.

It was breath-taking.

To have a few moments to revel in the vastness of God’s creation from that vantage point left me with a peace in my soul that was so very comforting… and reassuring.  After all the stress of the past 3 years, it was such a gift.  Such a gift!  Thank you Vince and Chris… you have no idea!

A Most Improbable

If you’ve read more than a couple posts here, you know that I’m always searching for God’s lessons in the moment.  This one:

Go get high on life!

[ No no no… not the drug-induced high…]

It’s a corny, balloonist joke… said aloud many times last Saturday… but very true.

Fear is real… sometimes it keeps us from getting into real trouble… but it should never be the reason that holds us back from engaging life.

Life can be a most improbable journey… but only if we open ourselves to what God can do with us.

Let yourself experience adventure.

Be filled with joy.

Look to the unknown with wonder.

Let God work a most improbable life in you!

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

3 responses »

  1. […] came across this quote again about a week ago.  It speaks deeply to my Trekkie nature and also to the Buddha in me.  [The word Buddha means “I am […]

  2. […] came across this quote again about a week ago.  It speaks deeply to my Trekkie nature and also to the Buddha in me.  [The word Buddha means “I am […]

  3. […] been out a few times since the Bucket List Adventure crewing and chasing balloons across the hills outside of Truckee, California.  It’s always […]

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

