imperceptibly

Out of the corners of my eyes I catch glimpses of myself in the metaphorical mirror.  I look different now.

I am changing… profoundly yet imperceptibly.

In some moments, I hardly recognize myself at all.  And I wonder… what is happening.

I’m in one of those personal / emotional / spiritual spaces where almost everything feels familiar… like I’ve already traveled this road and had these conversations… deja vu over and over.

And of course that couldn’t possibly be true… because I’m in a totally brand new place / context / community.  Still…

Last week in Billings at Catholic Heart Work Camp at a daily Mass, we had that great gospel from Matthew:

Jesus said:
“Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened,
and I will give you rest.

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me,
for I am meek and humble of heart;

and you will find rest for yourselves.
For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”

Ironic for a group of work-campers, huh?  God does have a sense of humor!

The Light Inside

I have shared this story here on the blog a few times over the years… in fact, you might have read the opening just a bit ago in A Place Where No One Ever Goes.

But I’ve never shared… with anyone really… how it came to life.

I wrote the story a lot of years ago in the wee hours of a morning after I woke up from dreaming it.  I had walked through all of the scenes in the dream-world, so when I got out of bed to write it down, this is what emerged… The Light Inside.

Like a lot of dreams can be, it felt so real… and honestly I wanted to go back and live in that world.

It was on the order of 5:00 am… I’d already been awake for a while… a small lamp was shining in the living room… and a soft knock on my door!  My neighbor was standing there.

“I just had a crazy dream and I need to share it with you!  Can I tell you?”

He was obviously worked up.  We were close friends so I made more coffee and we sat on the deck talking.

Yep… you guessed it.

He proceeded to describe everything in my dream in the exact same details.  When he paused to take a breath, I ran back inside and grabbed my journal with the written story.

It was a silencing moment when we realized that I was writing at the exact moment he was dreaming.  Somehow, we had both been in the same dream-world at the same time.

We couldn’t really even talk to each other for the rest of the day.  The whole thing was so mind-blowing.

So I share this with you today because this morning I woke up with the last two lines on my lips:

Come to me, come to me… all you who tire.
Rest here.  Take shelter.  I’ll fill you with fire.

I must have been in that dream-world again.

Pray through The Light Inside and let me know what you hear.  Maybe we really are all walking the same road.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

