The Legend of Honu

There is a longstanding legend of a big green sea turtle, Kailua, who could turn itself into the form of a girl at will.  In human form, she would look after the children playing on Punalu’u Beach

Her mother, Honu-po’o-kea, was an exceptional, magnificent and some deemed supernatural, turtle and her head was pure white like the snows on the slopes of Mauna Kea.  She dug a hole to lay a brown egg which was as beautifully and smoothly polished as Kailua wood.  Her mate Honu-ea, who had been bobbing in the water waiting for her, crept up to shore and together, they dug a hole from which fresh water gushed to form a little pool

The egg hatched into Kailua who lived at the bottom of the spring and she would turn herself into the form of a girl at will and in this form, would keep a careful eye on the children playing by the ocean.  She became the turtle guardian of the keiki, and also brought with her the gift of fresh spring water to ancient Hawaiians.

{ Click HERE to read more. }

Love Native Art

I have always loved native art… from any culture.  Petroglyphs and cave drawings / paintings on buffalo hides and symbols drawn on horses tell the stories of the lives of ancient people.

It is such an amazing gift to have the legacy of these cultures crafted by their own hands as a reminder that we were not the first ones to arrive on this earth.

We stand on the shoulders of great ones before us.

I love native art because it tells the stories.

The story of Honu lives deep in me.

Honu has been called Navigator / Guardian / Life-Force… which is exactly what I needed on this recent adventure.

My spirit was distraught and lost.  My soul was hugely gaping and vulnerable.  My will was dry and dead.

Honu met me in the Reno airport… took me by the hand… led me to O’ahu.  Each step after that was intentional with promise and purpose.

I felt safe.  And for the first time in a great long while, I slept… deeply… until I woke feeling rested.  I can’t remember the last time I felt that way.

And little by little I began to enter the world again.  Honu showed me exotic flowers and magnificent trees / white sand beaches and clear warm blue water / smells and tastes I haven’t known before.

Honu woke me up!  To myself.  To the life I was seeking.  To a world I had pushed away.

Back in the Desert

I have returned to the desert.  Quite opposite of Honu’s world.  And my task now is to stay connected to the peace and vision of the new world I found.

Wherever you are, that is your path.

As much as I would like to stay in Hawaii, it is not my path right now.  But I feel great hope in knowing where I can go if I need to be refilled again.

I can get there by plane… I can also get there by prayer.

Honu is nearby and will take my hand.  Lead the way!

Honu at Paradise Cove!

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

4 responses »

  1. Ronald of Richmond says:

    Hmmmmmm………………..sure strange that you “had to go” to Hawaii to find these experiences! Couldn’t be in the world of mortals to find these gems? Envy you in your venue for finding light!
    r

  2. Susan Lovato says:

    Nice turtle tat

    Date: Mon, 24 Sep 2012 17:54:31 +0000 To: lovatosl@hotmail.com

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

