I had a very poetic post ready…

but as I came to my laptop I realized that it was rather depressing.  And I’m just not feeling it… so I’ve adjusted the course.

I’m feeling an early rush of Thanksgiving gratitude.

It usually doesn’t hit until next week but today I am feeling especially thankful for all the good things in my life.

My family… can’t wait to see my daughters next week / they have just grown up so fast.  Eager to spend time with the larger family around cribbage games / high school football playoffs / turkey and sweet potatoes.

My friends… I have so many great people in my life.  Giving me hope.  Encouraging my hare-brained schemes.  Reading my writing.  Sharing the up’s and down’s of life.  All are gift to me.

My ministry… the opportunity to break bread and share faith with young people and younger people.  To walk the journey and create a holding place for each other’s souls.  To talk about what makes life worthwhile.

Somewhere in the World

I have so much to be grateful for… I am blessed… and I need to hold that before my eyes always.

Because somewhere in the world, people died today.  There wasn’t enough food or shelter or medicine or… maybe even just simple love.

My heart bleeds for them all.  Though I have seen true poverty up close and personal, I can only imagine how hard it must be to live there day after day.

For me, it is not enough to simply send my prayers.  I give what money and other items I can… but most times that doesn’t feel like enough either.

So my bigger gift is a life’s work of sharing the Gospel with others… walking with people in faith and motivating their hearts toward discipleship.  It seems like the least I can do for all I have been given.

What do you do to give thanks?  I’d love to hear your story.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

