Who said?

Let’s talk about this for a sec.  Here’s the Bible passage for you:

The Lord said to Elijah, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.”

Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind.  After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake.  After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire.  And after the fire came a gentle whisper.  When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave.

[Click to see the whole story.]

So where can God be found?

A Lovely Vacation

I just returned from two weeks of holiday fun time with family and friends.  It was so great to take a break from work and everyday busyness to be together laughing and eating tons of food.  Tons!

Yesterday we all set out early to travel back home to work / school / family.  We are a widely scattered bunch.

Landed in Reno.  Minus the luggage with some Christmas presents in it.  The bag-tag number wasn’t even in their computer system.  ‘Not to worry’, she said… TSA probably pulled it for hand inspection and it will show up on the next flight.  [TSA rears its ugly head… again.  Ugh!  We had been getting along so well that day.]

Took a cab home.  I was so looking forward to lunch and a nap… we had all stayed up extra late on our last night together.

Walked inside… wiped my shoes… turned on the light… wasn’t paying too much attention… my shoes were tracking water… probably the melting snow on them… wiped the rug again… set my backpack down… right into a huge PUDDLE-in-My-Kitchen!

** Slosh ** Slosh **  { Squish!  Squish! }

More lights.  My apartment was flooded.  Double UGH!

You know that moment?

When all hope is dashed and all you can do it just hang your head and shoulders is usually when the expletives start spewing from your brain if not also your mouth.

I surprised myself.  I handled it all pretty well.  It’s not that I’m that nice-and-holy of a person… I think I was just too tired to muster up any emotion.  Whatever!  I did say that out loud… with more than a little hint of attitude in my tone.

If you own your home then you know all the responsibility for clean-up and repair falls on your plate.  I am SO excited that currently I am a renter!  Someone else has to fix it all.  [That probably helped minimize some of my headache.]

The Rest of the Story

My apartment flooded because a frozen pipe burst in the place next door in the middle of the night.  So while I was watching movies / eating snacks / having one last holiday hurrah in Colorado, secretly my stuff was getting soaked with very cold water in Nevada.

Eight hours after returning home, I slammed onto the couch to watch the last of a football game.  Everything in the kitchen moved to the bedroom / moved back to the kitchen / bedroom moved to the kitchen / living room moved to the kitchen and into the far corner.  Had to sleep on the couch because the bedroom floor was too wet to set my bed back up.  [Do you ever notice how these things happen at the most inconvenient times?  I wonder if God does that on purpose.]

where-I-live

where-I-live

I am a moving machine!  After the past four years of packing / unpacking / re-packing / hauling / storing / moving / sorting / purging / re-hauling… I have no idea what box anything I own is in… except the suitcase that did make it home with me.

God is in the flood!

In the midst of yesterday’s craziness I stopped for a moment in my brain and thought:

What about all those poor people who lost their homes in New York and New Jersey in Hurricane Sandy?  Some are still waiting for money to even schedule the contractors or the carpet cleaners or just get an insurance adjuster to come out.

And here my life is inconvenienced and put back in order in a matter of a few hours.  Elaine!  What an insensitive whiny selfish arrogant mess you are!  How dare you!

I stopped and prayed… for all of them… and for me to be a better person.

I found God in the flood.  Quite by accident.  But I did find God.  And I was humbled.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

4 responses »

  1. Dan Mulhall says:

    This is the song that has been in my brain all day. I think it is for you.

    All Good Gifts, around us.
    Are sent from Heaven above.
    Oh, thank the Lord, oh thank the Lord
    For all his love.

    Things do dry out, don’t you know. Thank God for being a renter.

    Dan

  2. Don McCrabb says:

    Last month it was the emptiness of Newtown, CT. This month it is the fullness – to overflowing (pun intended) water that soaks us and humbles us – that we must enter into. It is only in God, revealed – “love’s pure light” (from Silent Night) – that we can hold both the emptiness and the fullness. There is a spark of truth, goodness, beauty and even humor in all of this. May God give you the grace to see it.

    By the way, should I send towels?

    • Towels, yes Don! And a really big fan!
      I’m still sleeping on the couch because the carpets are wet.

      Your thoughts are profound… from emptiness to fullness… not only in life events but then we have the parallel to Incarnation. Great connection!

      Thanks for sharing your wisdom and insight! Look forward to seeing you sometime in the future.

      Peace for Tuesday 🙂

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

