Some say She’s reckless!

I don’t think that’s accurate.  Risk-taker maybe… but not reckless.  I am very strategic and calculating… but not in a manipulative or creepy way.

I just have the ability to see down the road a few steps further than some people.  I didn’t ask for it… the blessing/curse just came pre-wired in my genes.  And yes… sometimes it’s a curse.  Predicting the future is highly over-rated.  It’s so much more enjoyable to just live in the moment.

But the gift of seeing a little beyond the edge of the flashlight’s beam gives me an extra dose of comfort-zone-ness to trust and leap into the unknown.  I guess some people might interpret that as recklessness.  I think it just makes me more willing to try new things… even when I’m not sure they will work.

This might not work.

sci-fi-fantasy-star-wars-diagram-of-yodaI have endured my fair share of criticism.  I’m sure you have too.  Everyone has.  In fact, I cling to an old proverb:  If no one is complaining, then you’re not doing it right.

I learned early on that the best things in life require challenge and change.  And there is always someone nearby who resists both enough to say something loudly to the person who is upsetting their apple cart.

Sometimes my hare-brained schemes work… and sometimes they don’t.  But I always grow from the process of trying.  I value those lessons more than anything.  Because a failure means that the next time I try there is one less option to consider.

We have heard the great inventors of our time say similar things… Thomas Edison, Albert Einstein and the like.  And recently I re-visited this wise one-liner from Oscar Wilde:  Be yourself… everyone else is taken.  So I continue onward in the same vein.

Failure is an option.

Yea… but.

It doesn’t define us.  It doesn’t constitute our whole being.  It doesn’t even really affect us unless we allow it to intimidate us.

Although it sometimes does give others fodder to label us with words like ‘reckless’ or ‘foolish’, failure means that we have tried for something.  Success or no success isn’t the point.  It is the act of trying something new that ensures the personal growth.  And I am way more interested in rising above this mud-and-spit-human-muck-of-a-mess that I am than worrying about whether someone [who should know better] tells people to stay away from me because I might lead them to the dark side.  {yes… that really happened…}

What looks like sure-fire failure at the outset, often turns into triumph.  Take a cue from the events we will remember this Holy Week.

Failure is an option only for TRYer’s.  No TRY equals no worry.  I want to be known as a TRYer.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

5 responses »

  1. Bob Chorey says:

    Yoda a good wisdom figure he is

  2. Susan Lovato says:

    thanks Elaine. connected with my soul-susan-

    Date: Tue, 26 Mar 2013 16:51:35 +0000 To: lovatosl@hotmail.com

  3. The content of any medium is always another medium.

    Marshall McLuhan

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

