Awesome Sea of Yellow

I asked Dean last night: Has it dawned on you in more than an obvious way that we don’t live in the desert anymore?

He thought for a moment and said: No. I guess it really hasn’t until just now.

I replied: Take a look around. Things actually grow here!

IMG_20130813_190611

Heading north on Hwy 59 toward Haxtun… revel in the sunflower fields!

A quick glance out either side of the car proved the point. Corn / wheat / hay / potatoes [I think] / and awesome fields of bright yellow sunflowers. The sunflowers especially, are speaking to me these days.

I cruised the backroads to Sterling yesterday to join educators from all over northeastern Colorado and began a brand new leg of the adventure that is my life anymore. I have become a school counselor. Quite the surprise I must say.

I didn’t see this one coming. One voice mail / a couple of phone calls and emails / two face-to-face conversations and Voila! Now I have a desk / a computer / an office and will be the K-8 counselor in Yuma as students begin another school year starting next week.

I am still fairly stunned… though pleasantly surprised… by this unexpected turn of events. I guess Forrest Gump got it exactly right:

Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.

And Then Sunflowers

Last month driving past these fields of plants with strange leaves piqued my curiosity. Not corn. Not soybeans. Not hay or alfalfa or any other crop that my limited knowledge of farming could identify.

But wait a few more weeks / a few more days of heat and thunderstorms and you see the sun come out! Sunflowers turning their faces to greet the eastern morning sun and smile at the dawning of a new day. A happy reminder that: Things grow here!

IMG_20130813_190827I have lived in the real desert and the metaphorical desert for the past 17 years and have looked toward the desert fathers and mothers for spiritual guidance and sustenance. It’s a hard path, for sure. I don’t know how those early ascetics survived. They were much stronger and way more devoted than I will ever be.

It dawned on me in a profound way yesterday that I am moving toward a new horizon. The spirituality of the Prairie… hmmm… wonder what that’s all about.

I think sunflowers might have some good lessons for me to discover. If you’re reading this and know any sunflower farmers, hook me up! I want to go walk through those fields and immerse myself in the awesome sea of yellow.

Things grow here… and I will too.

About Elaine Menardi

Heading off on a new adventure! I solve problems and make ideas happen.

4 responses »

  1. Rox says:

    What a wonderful metaphor… turning your face to the sun, you grow everywhere….. Those are the luckiest kids I know.

  2. dan says:

    To also quote the movie Forrest Gump, “It happens.”
    Congrats on all that is now moving in your life. Stay in touch.

    Dan

What do you think? Love to hear from you.

